Kindergarten ((4K))

Because McKenzie is only a week away from the cut-off date, we’re enrolling her in school today…she’ll be starting K4 on September 4th! Yikes! She’ll be the baby in her grade. This has always been an issue for Jon and me because we’re both older…first to drive, physically bigger, stronger, etc. Size-wise, she’s pretty tiny to begin with (only the 30th percentile amongst her peers), so hopefully that won’t be an issue. We’ve decided we want her to be older too, but she’s still going to start school now. We just plan on having her do K5 twice, so at least she’s still getting the academic input…unless her teachers really advise against it because she’s such a smarty-pants. ;) She has such a big personality, so I’m sure she’ll be a social butterfly!


But with the school year fast-approaching, I’ve been doing all my back-to-school shopping at the local Goodwill. Yep. Not gonna lie, I really don’t care if it’s used as long as it’s in good shape. Like the shoes in this post. On my last visit, I was very happy to find the shirt in these photos for $1.99. They perfectly match her new blue shoes from Target Clearance…which translates into big savings for me, and trendy-tike style for her. =) This whole outfit was less than $10!

  • Shirt: $1.99, thrifted Goodwill
  • Jeggings: $3.98, Target clearance
  • Shoes: $2.98, Target clearance

On the topic of school, this past weekend we were visiting Jon’s Mom in the Milwaukee area (where Jon and I both grew up), and McKenzie and I went to the playground at my old middle school. They replaced all the equipment since we went there. She had a lot of fun just playing with me, but she will definitely have fun playing with kids her own age when she starts school! The dogs came too…Logan is our chill golden retriever, and Cali is  our energetic yellow lab. They’re both 6, and ridiculously patient with McKenzie. She’ll pull them all around the house playing “Lion King” or “puppy.”  ((She’s the cub and/or puppy and they’re the parents. It’s hilarious, and I do feel bad for them, but it gives me a nice break. Just sayin.)) Cali is super-tolerant, but McKenzie is especially close with Logan. He listens to her every command, and they’re great buds. It’s pretty adorable..they’re in-step and everything! See pics below:

Leave a Reply

