What hurts more than giving birth?

Answer: This double ear infection. Like, not even kidding. Oh. My. Goodness. The pain was so excruciating that it made me physically sick…3 times. At least labor is a fleeting pain, with an awesome payoff. What do I have to show for all my pain this Labor Day? A ruptured f*%#ing eardrum. It’s been at least 48 hours of agony at this point, and pain meds (and I’m talking 2 Vicodin, here) do nothing. Yep. Worst Labor Day Weekend ever. Jon has been a saint caring for McKenzie all day by himself, as I lie in bed with an ear infection, terrible fever, and ruptured eardrum. Laaaaaame.

And McKenzie was the sweetest little princess all day. She would crawl into bed and try to make me feel better by stroking my face and hair. She tried leading me by the hand to her bathroom to get some of her “red medicine” (liquid children’s Tylenol) to “make you feel better Momma.” She is seriously the sweetest little kid ever.

It’s funny how your worst days can make you the most thankful for all the wonderful things in your life.

Leave a Reply

