McKenzie’s First Day of School!

As a parent, the first day of school was definitely a bittersweet day! Jon came home early from campus just so we could both walk McKenzie to school, since she’s the afternoon class of 4K. I just can’t believe our baby is getting so big! Granted, she is probably the youngest in her class…but still.

So funny story: I have a chalkboard and I was trying to make it look super-cute (like this girl’s blog…she’s a freakin rockstar at the chalkboard), but I was failing miserably and running out of time. Long story short, I ran to Michael’s and bought a frame ($4.99), scrapbook paper (65¢), and scrapbook lettering ($3.99). So for under $10 I was able to make her a Pinterest-style frame in 10 minutes, with less than an hour to spare before her school started. I was very relieved, and I think it turned out pretty cute! At least it looks polished! Apparently, I am no chalkboard artist. Haha.

A few hours later, I walked back to the school and picked her up. She saw me, ran to me, and gave me a huge hug. Her sweet hugs are enough to make my heart melt.

Her teacher told me that at the end of the day, McKenzie announced, “That was easy!” Super cute. The whole way home, she was talking about how much fun she had, and how she can’t wait to go back tomorrow! I certainly hope she always keeps up this positive attitude about school! Oh, and I didn’t cry once. ;)

I love all the pics I snapped today. I especially love that there are some of me with her. All too often as the momma/photographer, I am not in any pictures ever. Oh. And I think the one of McKenzie hugging Jon (daddy) goodbye are especially precious. Here are some photos from our sweet baby girl’s first day of school:

UPDATE: I thought it would be cute to take the “First Day of 4K” sign and turn it into a real photo frame, with some of the fun/memorable photos we took today. I think it turned out adorable! Please excuse the crappy camera phone pic. I chose the one of her with her backpack and one of her waiting in line to go into her classroom. I’m so happy she had a great first day. =)

2 thoughts on “McKenzie’s First Day of School!

Leave a Reply

