A fun weekend & a new (big) purchase.

I have so much fun just getting out of the house as a family and enjoying our city. Saturday morning we went to the Farmer’s Market on the Capitol Square (for those not familiar with Madison, the entire block around the Capitol building is full of local farmers…at least a quarter mile around).  It’s a blast just to walk around and sample foods/buy fresh fruits & veggies. After walking around, we went out to eat at one of our favorite restaurants, “The Old Fashioned,” where we enjoyed local Wisconsin fare, including Beer Cheese Soup and deep-fried cheese curds with ranch dipping sauce…it sounds gross, but it’s SO delicious. In fact, that was my only craving during my pregnancy with McKenzie. Haha.

I had a photo session scheduled at 4, so after our scrumptious meal I headed out since it was an hour away. I got some fun shots, here is my favorite family photo (below). The little boy was having a hard day…I’ve never photographed a baby that didn’t like me! You can see  the concern on his face. He’d cry whenever I got near! Oh well. I still think they turned out nicely.

In other news, I’ve been looking for a workout buddy for awhile now, to no avail. *sigh* Having someone to workout with really helps keep me accountable and motivated! It’s a big help. BUT, then I thought: “Well, if I had a treadmill in my house, I would literally have no excuse.” So with my hubby’s blessing (what husband would say no to that), I went out and bought a treadmill. I love running when I can get into it…even walking would be helpful at this point. I’ve been inexcusably sedentary lately. Probably due to my notorious Netflix addiction. Haha.

ANYWAY, after McKenzie was born, I lost all the weight very quickly (36lbs total…thanks to the aforementioned cheese curds) just by walking/running 2 miles a day on our treadmill. Just 2 miles while she was napping. Very easy. But for some reason (I seriously don’t remember), we sold it. Soooo I went out to buy one with 2 major criteria in mind: it had to have incline, and it had to fold up to save space. I settled on the Lifespan 1200i (which was on sale for $999, originally $1,599).

I really love it so far, and it is very high quality…much better than our last one, which was a ProForm. The motor is much quieter,  so I’m sure our condo neighbors will love that. And I love that it has incline/speed buttons on the arms of it. It’s an incredibly convenient feature. My starting goal is just 2 miles/day. I think that’s really manageable, and it will be doable with McKenzie in the house. Score! If anyone has any good running routines/tips, feel free to let me know! Or even healthy (and tasty!) meal ideas, I’m lookin’ for those too. =)

One thought on “A fun weekend & a new (big) purchase.

  1. Have you ever done or heard of interval training? Basically you alternate high intensity speed with lower and it helps burn more calories, fat, etc. I like these types of workouts for the treadmill because it allows you to get a good workout in a short amount of time (i.e. 30 minutes or less). I usually find my workouts on Women’s Health or Shape.com. Enjoy your new treadmill!

    p.s. – My mouth started watering at the thought of Old-Fashioned’s cheese curds…

Leave a Reply

