South Carolina Pulled Pork Recipe

My good friend made this recipe for dinner when we were at her house, and let me tell you: it was memorable! The mustard-based recipe is actually very simple to make, it just takes awhile to bake to the ultimate tenderness. It’s worth the wait, I promise! Enjoy. =)

SOUTH CAROLINA PULLED PORK RECIPE

Prep Time 30min | Cook Time 6-8 hours

MEAT & RUB

  • 3-5 lbs pork shoulder roast (aka “butt roast”)
  • 3 tbsp. dry mustard (I used ‘ground mustard,’ which I found in the spice aisle)
  • 2 tbsp. salt
  • 1½ tbsp. light brown sugar
  • 2 tsp. ground black pepper
  • 2 tsp. paprika
  • ¼ tsp. cayenne pepper
  • Combine all ingredients in bowl and coat meat with the rub. Refrigerate up to 24 hours. (Although, I just popped it in the oven right away.)

SAUCE

  • ½ cup dijon mustard
  • ½ cup packed light brown sugar
  • ¼ cup apple cider vinegar (white is fine too)
  • 2 tbsp. Worchestershire sauce
  • 1 tbsp. hot sauce (I used the Asian hot sauce Siracha)
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. black pepper
  • Spicier version: ¼ tsp. cayenne pepper, ½ tsp. additional black pepper
  • Combine all ingredients in bowl, refrigerate until needed.

COOKING INSTRUCTIONS

  • Preheat oven to 225° and bake the seasoned meat for 2 hours per pound, mine was 3 lbs so I baked it for 6 hours. ((If you want to speed up cooking time, bake at 275°  for 1½ hours per pound.))
  • 30 minutes prior to completion, coat meat with ½ cup of the sauce.
  • When meat is finished, let cool for 15 minutes. This is a good time to bake the buns/rolls if they’re not already made!
  • Pull meat apart with your hands or forks.
  • Microwave sauce for 45 seconds or until warm, and coat meat with the remaining sauce.
  • You’re done! I love them served on Rhodes Texas Rolls, which I found in my grocery store’s freezer section. Enjoy!

If you make it, I’d love to hear how it turned out!

5 thoughts on “South Carolina Pulled Pork Recipe

  1. I just have a few questions =) What is “dry mustard” is it a spice? Lol =) And do you know if this would work in the crock pot? It seems like it would but I’m not sure!

    Thanks!

  2. Hi Jesse! I used “ground mustard,” which I found in the spice aisle at my local grocery store. 3T was the entire small container. I would imagine that this recipe would work just fine in a crock pot. Just cook on low for 2hrs/lb. Enjoy!

  3. Pingback: A Great Week, In Sum | Life So Lovely.

Leave a Reply

