Passing down traditions: New Year’s Eve

imagesWhen I was a kid we had a really fun family New Year’s Eve tradition. First, we’d go to Blockbuster and pick out 3 or 4 VHS movies for our movie marathon (quite a splurge back in the day), and then we’d come home and set up our fondue pot…I always looked forward to it! *mental note: get a fondue pot* Our first course would be veggies in a tempura batter, next was meat (chicken, shrimp, steak), and we finished it off with chocolate fondue & fruit. Oh, and there would always be a crackling fire to set the ambiance. I was always the designated “fire tender,” not because I loved the mood, but because I’m pretty sure I was a pyromaniac. Haha.

Anyhow, our meal usually lasted the first whole movie. After that, we’d quickly clean up and then literally¬†wrestle my parent’s queen sized mattress from their bedroom to the family room. It was quite an event. This was back in the day when you inflated air mattresses with a foot pump, so it was actually easier to move the whole bedroom mattress…we only did this on special occasions of course, like NYE.

Then we’d all cozy up on my parent’s mattress on our family room floor and continue our movie marathon until about 11:30 (we’d have it timed perfectly), and we’d watch the last 30 minutes of Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve & watch the ball drop. Then my mom would give us wooden spoons and pots & pans and we’d bang them outside (I’m sure our neighbors loved us), because that’s what she used to do when she was little. Then my sister & I would retire to our rooms, and our parents would stay up and sleep in the family room for the night.

It was such a fun tradition, and we’re carrying it on with McKenzie…although, we just go out for a nice dinner and bring out the air mattress. =) Ah, fond memories…did you have any fun family traditions for New Year’s Eve when you were a kid?

2 thoughts on “Passing down traditions: New Year’s Eve

Leave a Reply

