Drama, drama, drama. And gunshots.

So. There was a motherf*cking SHOOTING outside our condo Wednesday night. What. The. F*ck. Some lovely Police gentlemen woke us up at midnight, asking us if we’d heard the gunshot. That was interesting…try falling back asleep after that one. So that was my week for ya.

We don’t live in the best neighborhood in the world, but it is certainly NOT bad by any means. We own our condo. It’s nice. We have nice neighbors, except for one: to me, he looks like this, and I have code-named him Vincenzo:monsterGet the idea? Certified creeper. Word on the street is that Vincenzo’s a heroin addict, hailing from the projects in Chicago. I’m serious. In June he started his apartment on fire because he left “something” cooking on the stove and went to a friend’s house. According to his records, he has been arrested for pan-handling and the manufacture/intent to distribute cocaine. He has solicited us for money, and I’m fairly certain he’s a drug dealer (based on the multiple cars/”guests” he has at his apartment on a given day). Given his record, it’s not a stretch. Here’s the kicker: he’s almost 60. Oh, and once he found my phone outside & tried to sell it back to me. Quality person, no doubt.

How is Vincenzo still living here, you ask? Well. He lives in a condo owned by his sister, who lives out-of-state. Rent-free. He doesn’t work. He just “chills” with his “associates” all day and buys 40’s from the gas station at 9am. No judgement. Ha! A real winner. But of course (he thinks) it’s because he’s black…never mind his shady behavior, or the fact that we have other African American neighbors with whom we have great relationships.

Anyhow, despite my many complaints and letters to the management company (even citing specific dates/incidents), there’s not a whole lot they can do about someone having too many “guests.” Would I care if he were having company over for a lovely dinner party?? No. Am I the only one who has expressed discomfort at his presence in our building? No.

Well this drug-related shooting has hopefully sealed his fate…at least for him maintaining a residence here. The management company received MULTIPLE complaints in the morning. I guess people don’t like the police waking them up in the middle of the night with questions about a shooting? Whether or not he was the shooter, the target, or it was one of his “associates,” I politely informed the management company that his behavior and “associates” are directly affecting the quality of life for the whole building and it’s unacceptable.

In happier news, we got to hear Baby #2’s heartbeat on Wednesday! Strong at 150 beats per minute. And I got my dream stroller…but more on that another day. =)

6 thoughts on “Drama, drama, drama. And gunshots.

  1. Thanks Angie! I hear he’ll be gone by the end of next week. *knock on wood* And yes, we are definitely finding out the sex…I’m too impatient not to know! =) More on the stroller to come, but it was a bit of a splurge…and I didn’t even pay full-price. ;)

  2. Oh.My.Gosh. That’s terrifying! We’ve had a few shootings recently in our “neighborhood” but they were all quite a distance away. We’re looking to put our house on the market in a few months and every time there is an incident, we see our chances of a fast sell lessen. Boo, bad neighbors! And a good stroller is a worthy investment, in my book. J cringes at how much money we have wrapped up in strollers, slings and carriers but they are essentials!

  3. I know, Liz…that’s the first thing I thought! “There goes the property value!” Blast. Fortunately, we’ll be able to profit renting it out, so it’ll work out in the end.

  4. Pingback: Masking Tape Racetrack & Some Other Things | Life So Lovely.

Leave a Reply

