Monty’s Blue Plate Diner

Here in Madison there’s a delicious local eatery called Monty’s Blue Plate Diner. The food is absolutely amazing! All homemade, and it’s the perfect diner “feel.” I particularly love the breakfasts, fish fry, and desserts. ;)

We discovered it about a year ago, and we made it our “Tuesday Tradition.” Every Tuesday before Jon’s classes at UW we have breakfast, and then McKenzie and I head over to the Madison Children’s Museum, where we have an annual pass. So much fun! Did you ever have any restaurant traditions when you were a kid? My family always went out to dinner when we (my sister and I) got good grades on our report cards…because we were smarty pants’ like that. ;)

Anyhow this is a picture of McKenzie at “Blue Plate” this summer…they always have chalk out in the summer, so her shirt is covered in chalk. Haha. =)

In other news, my sister is coming for  a visit this weekend with my niece, Abbey. McKenzie and Abbey are going to have so much fun! And I’m keeping it a surprise for Kenzers, so tomorrow she’ll wake up and Abbey will be here…I can just picture the joy on her face! But I love surprises, Jon hates them. I think they’re fun.

So for dinner tonight I’m making an amazing pulled pork recipe we had at a friend’s house, with homemade rub and sauce. It’s SO good. I’m not sure where the recipe is from (because she just texted me a picture of the recipe), but it’s called “South Carolina Pulled Pork.” YUM! I already made the sauce, and it was all very easy. Probably less than 20 minutes of prep. I’ll post the recipe & pics tomorrow, because it’s definitely worth sharing!

Leave a comment